Tuesday, 9 February 2021

3 new exams from VMware

 VMware have released 3 new "skills" badges and exams in the last couple of weeks:

Each of the links above will take you to the page where you can download the Exam Guide and find out more about how to book the exams.

All 3 exams are "proctored" which means they are either taken at a Pearson VUE testing centre or online using their OnVUE system.

Friday, 5 February 2021

VCPs and VCAPs around the world - 2021 edition!

For a number of years now, VMware have published infographics about the distribution of VCPs, VCAPs, and VCDXs around the world.

The 2021 VCP and VCAP versions can be found by clicking on the images:

Some interesting observations:

  • There are now more than 100,000 VCPs in the USA, but only an additional 20,000 or so across the rest of the Americas
  • Eight countries now have more than 10,000 VCPs!
  • Ireland has 761 VCPs per million of the population, more than double that of the USA
  • While EMEA has the lowest number of VCPs it has the highest number of VCAPs

Monday, 1 February 2021

Training available for VCTA-DCV and VCTA-NV

VMware released the VMware Certified Technical Associate (VCTA) level of certifications a little while ago, if you aren't sure what VTCA means and how it fits into the full family of certifications check out my previous post on this.

Training has now been published to help candidates prepare for the VCTA-DCV and VCTA-NV, the content is available via VMware Connect Learning.

You'll need a Premium subscription in order to access the VCTA learning content, that subscription level gives you access to 1300+ videos on topics across the full portfolio of VMware solutions plus exam prep courses for VCP-level certifications - learn more about how to access the VCTA content within VMware Connect Learning.

To learn a little more about the certifications and for a sneak peak of the training content, take a look at these YouTube videos from the IT Academy team: VCTA-DCV and VCTA-NV

Wednesday, 6 January 2021

January 2021 Update

Happy New Year!

Let us all hope that 2021 doesn't drag us any further away from the lives we knew prior to 2020 - while there are many things we will have learned from the last 12 months I'm certainly missing many of the freedoms I had previously taken for granted...

Anyway, on to business - a summary of updates from the last couple of months in the wonderful world of VMware training and certification!

2021 Certifications

VMware's naming policy has been based on the calendar rather than the software versions for a while now, as with every January the titles of all certifications and specialist badges have been updated for 2021.

Complete the requirements of a certification or specialist badge at any point in 2021 and you'll be awarded the current 2021 title. Remember also that your certifications don't expire - so if you achieve VCP-DCV 2021 that will stay with you next January and beyond.

VCP-DCV exams for vSphere 6.7 - retirement extended

VMware had originally set a retirement date for the Foundations and Professional exams on vSphere 6.7 of December 31st 2020, but these have now been extended by 6 months to June 30th 2021.

For those of you that are skilled in 6.7 or have completed authorised training on 6.7, this gives you a path to achieving VCP-DCV 2021.

New VCAP exams

Available now are 3 new exams for the VCAP-DCV 2021 and VCAP-CMA 2021 certifications based on the latest software versions:

VMTN Communities - Education and Certification area back online

The VMTN forums have been a highly-valuable resource for all of the 15 years I've worked with VMware technologies! VMTN was migrated to a new back-end platform a couple of months ago, after a lot of work the Education and Certification area is now "back in business" - you can post questions or search for previous answers on most of what you would want to know about certification requirements and learning.

Tuesday, 13 October 2020

Two new VMware Security certifications - VCTA and VCP

VMware now offer 2 certifications covering the security features and functions of NSX-T Data Center, Workspace ONE and Carbon Black Cloud:

VMware Certified Technical Associate - Security 2020 (VCTA-Security2020)

This was 1 of 3 new VCTAs launched in September, and will validate your understanding and the ability to provide entry level support of VMware's security solutions.

The certification has 1 hard/mandatory requirement of passing the Associate VMware Security exam, plus a number of recommended training courses to help you learn and prepare.

Learn more on this VCTA-Security 2020 page.

VMware Certified Professional - Security 2020 (VCP-Security 2020)

While we now have the VCTAs, most would consider VCP to remain the "starter" level certification - the new VCP-Security 2020 will validate your knowledge and the ability to administer the security features and functions of the above products.

The VCP has 2 hard/mandatory requirements - you must complete at least one authorised training course and pass the Professional VMware Security exam.

Learn more about the requirements on the VCP-Security 2020 page.

Wednesday, 30 September 2020

New Certifications - VMware Certified Technical Associate (VCTA)

VMware have just released a new "starter" certification level - the VMware Certified Technical Associate (VCTA).

The target audience for the VCTAs is those working in hands-on Day 2 Operations types of roles, these are definitely TECHNICAL certifications even though they sit at the level below VCP - VMware are expecting interest from career changers and those in entry-level technical roles.

As with all the higher-level certifications such as the VCP, there are VCTAs for multiple solution areas - the initial set of released certifications/exams cover:

The VCTA line-up will be completed later for these solution areas:
  • Digital Workspace (DW)
  • Cloud Management & Automation (CMA)
  • Application Modernization (AM)

There is no link between the VCTAs and the higher-level certifications such as VCP - you don't have to complete a VCTA as a VCP pre-requisite or anything like that. There's also no comparison or connection between the VCTAs and the older VMware Certified Associate (VCA) certification.

Each VCTA has a single mandatory requirement - passing an exam. VMware Learning will also be releasing a "recommended" training course for each certification.

Learn more about each of the VCTAs and their exams and training by following the links above, and more generally about VCTA by reading this VMware Learning blog post.

VMware Connect Learning (previously VLZ) - now FREE for 12 months

There have been a couple of branding changes at VMware:

  • VMware Education Services is now known as VMware Learning
  • VMware Learning Zone is now known as VMware Connect Learning

VMware Connect Learning is a huge library of self-paced training and videos which you can use to learn about new technology, new products, new features, or specific use cases. It has Basic and Premium options which work as annual subscriptions - learn more about it here.

There was a promotion started earlier this year which gave a FREE Premium subscription for 6 months - the exciting news (and the reason for this post) is that the promotion has been extended to give a full 12 months access!

There's no reason to wait - the promotion is available til the end of October - head to the subscription page now and sign-up!